Game Menu

When thinking about how to make game menus I thought about various styles I wanted to go in, did I want something more fitting of a serious, dramatic game or did I want to go more lighthearted and fun?

Well my decision by the end of it was the latter, I chose to make screens about cartoons, specifically more classic cartoons.

Starting off we have the start screen, for this I went for big bubble writing for the text and a cartoon hand portraying the pointer

Next here is a little extra, I had the idea of creating a fake loading screen for authenticity. In full animation the pencil would slowly fill up the bar.

Stage select mock-up. This one went through a few stages of thought, originally I thought of having the stage show up on a sign, but then eventually just started drawing a tv, the screen would tune into a looney tunes style background with an opener card including the character and stage name. Switching level would have the screen go fuzzy before tuning back into the next level.

Leave a comment